Theme Song Thursday:) Sunrise, Sunset

6 Jan

Babies are like little suns that, in a magical way, bring warmth, happiness and light into our lives.

~ (Kartini Diapari-Oengider)

**********************

More sharing…Just when you thought I’d run out of grandbaby pictures, you were wrong. There are more… lots more. 

Children are such a blessing, and grandchildren even more so. While I was holding little Belle in my arms this morning, rocking her, swaying back and forth, I was thinking of the song from “Fiddler on the Roof.” Sunrise, Sunset…” I swayed and smiled and sang the song to her. Memories flooded back. Memories of singing and dancing with my own babies in my arms, well over thirty years ago. 


Lyrics

Is this the little girl i carried?

Is this the little boy at play?

I don’t remember growing older,

When did they?

When did she get to be a beauty?

When did he grow to be so tall?

Wasn’t it yesterday when they were small?

Sunrise sunset, sunrise, sunset,

Swiftly flow the days,

Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers,

Blossoming even as they gaze…

Sunrise sunset,…

*************************

 When I returned to Mom’s house this afternoon, we were scanning and scrolling the tv for something to watch.”Fiddler on the Roof” was on the movie channel, so I turned it on. How fitting. I sang along. I always sing along.

“I don’t remember growing older…When did they?’




2 Responses to “Theme Song Thursday:) Sunrise, Sunset”

  1. Dan Hen January 7, 2017 at 12:30 am #

    Sweet.

  2. Brenda Davis Harsham January 7, 2017 at 3:17 am #

    Awww, my heart melted. Congrats to you. What a lovely post and what a lovely grand.

Leave a Reply

