Friday:) The Finest Friends and the Finest Pizza in the World

7 Jan

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends. I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.” ― Jane Austen

***********

Ok, I realize that I’m very biased, but I have the best friends and family in the entire world. Plus, I was born and raised in Chicago, which has the best pizza known to man…and woman. Yes, it does! Now, combine the two, and I’m the luckiest person in the world.

I’ve been able to spend some time with my family and friends over the holidays. And oh, being able to hold my brand new granddaughter in my arms, that’s the best. 

The other day, my old friends, (they’re not old, I am) Lin and Vicky met me for dinner at Lou Malnoti’s Pizzeria in Buffalo Grove. We’ve been friends since our kids were in grammar school, back in the 80’s and 90’s. We were on the same bowling team for many years. We’ve remained good friends even after I moved to Texas in ’04.

Now, when I come back to Chicago for a visit, we always get together. They wanted to celebrate my birthday, so they asked where I wanted to go for dinner. PIZZA! I need Chicago deep dish pizza! I’d been here three weeks and hadn’t had any deep dish pizza. They were more than happy to oblige. Lou’s has one of the best deep dish pizzas in the city.


Good friends and good food. Look at this pizza!

When I’m in Chicago, I eat pizza like a squirrel storing it up for the winter. I can’t get enough, because I know it’s going to be a long cold winter without decent pizza back in Texas. 


Then, because we were celebrating my birthday, we all had dessert. It was a warm chocolate chip cookie bowl with ice cream with whipped cream. I made a wish and blew out the candle. I guess my wish came true  because there was left over pizza to take home for the next day.

Yep, I have the best friends. Thanks Vicky and Lin for a great birthday dinner. “Friends for a lifetime.”


5 Responses to “Friday:) The Finest Friends and the Finest Pizza in the World”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham January 7, 2017 at 3:15 am #

    Happy, happy birthday! And Yum! Send me some pizza! 🙂

  2. Bonita January 10, 2017 at 4:16 am #

    U warm my heart! When u r home & rested…my same birth day friend, we need 2 celebrate!!

    • toniandrukaitis January 10, 2017 at 4:35 am #

      Thanks, Miss Brenda, The time flew by. I’ll be sad to go back home and leave, friends,,family and baby granddaughter,

    • toniandrukaitis January 10, 2017 at 4:35 am #

      Yes, Miss Bonita. Us birthday girls need to celebrate.

  3. paulettemotzko January 15, 2017 at 4:53 am #

    You look so pretty and happy in the photo with your birthday sundae. May you have many more wonderful birthdays to come in the future too.

    Paulette Motzko

Leave a Reply

