Tuesday:) Two Cups of Tea, a Tree, and Spacey Me

18 Jan

“There is something in the nature of tea that leads us into a world of quiet contemplation of life.” ― Lin Yutang, The Importance of Living

***********

I have this daily ritual of starting my day with a big pot of tea. The pretty pot usually sits on the counter for most the day. I pour a little in the cup, microwave it for a minute, and go about my business. Did you notice that I didn’t say that I actually drink the tea? Most of the time, that one minute it takes before the mircrowave sounds it’s annoying beep, I find myself distracted by some other project or activity, i.e., laundry, Facebook, emails, a walk, and so on. 

An hour or two later, I say to myself, “Self, did you forget to drink your tea?” Sometimes I respond and answer out loud, but most of the time I just tap the 1 minute again on the microwave. I’ve been known to do this four or five times before I actually remember to sit down and sip my tea. Does anyone else do that?

Well, it happened again today. I made my tea in the morning, but ran out the door for Zumba class at 8:15. My first time back to class in over a month. I’m a little sore right now. A little too much jiggle in my wiggle, and “Lanza in my panza.” (Mexican inside joke-my belly) When I got home, my tea was more than steeped, so I popped it in the micro 1 minute. I stepped in the other room to make the bed and hang up some clothes and put on a warmer jacket for my walk. Then, off I went for my walk. 

About an hour later, I walked in the door, a little chilly and decided to have a nice hot cup of tea. Where’s my cup? It’s not on the counter. Did I leave it in the bedroom? Nope! Bathroom? Nope! I know I was walking around with it this morning. Oh well. I grabbed another cup from the cabinet and poured. Off to the microwave to warm it up. (You can tell I’m not a tea connoisseur.) Aha! There it is!

Which one do I warm up? Heck! Just do both or I’ll forget again. This time I stood there the entire minute and waited for the beep. I get too easily distracted. Only one cup was consumed.

It was still chilly around 4p.m. I took little Bella for a walk through the park and we admired the knarly old tree that is sprawled across the grass, taking a few pictures.  I can relate to the old tired tree with thick weary limbs and bare winter branches. We’ve both seen better days, but…here we are, still hanging in there. A few limbs trimmed and worse for wear. But, a few specks of green. A sign of a little life still left.

I walked in the door, warmed up the second cup of tea still in the microwave, and decided, even if I’m old and spacey, there’s still a little life left in this old knarly tree.


4 Responses to “Tuesday:) Two Cups of Tea, a Tree, and Spacey Me”

  1. paulettemotzko January 20, 2017 at 10:19 pm #

    I don’t believe how amazingly like we are! I just bought that same tea you’re drinking that organic green tea and I have cups that I just got that are porcelain white but I love him, but I look through hundreds of different kinds of cups for I got up and we have the same ones. What’s the odds of that? I have a teapot collection that I’ve been collecting for over 20 years and when I go places I pick up one although I’m not really collecting and just using and enjoying these days. I bought a water kettle from walmart.com that’s awesome and it heats water up and just not even minutes it’s amazing. You’d love it

    • toniandrukaitis January 21, 2017 at 12:49 am #

      That is so funny because I have a teapot collection too. I used to have over 50 tea pots, but when I got divorced in 2014 and had to leave my home, I gave most of them away, to a smaller house, but I saved about ten of my favorites. I also have an electric kettle that warms my water in a few seconds AND shuts off automatically because I used to forget the kettle on the stove. One time the spout of the copper tea kettle melted right off and fell on the stove. Fortunately no damage or fire. Yes, we are kindred spirits. Thanks for sharing. Have a great day, my friend.

  2. toniandrukaitis January 21, 2017 at 4:23 am #

    McKinney, Texas, it’s a great town. I love it here.

Leave a Reply

