Wednesday:) What’s Cookin’ Miss Toni~ Waste Not,Want Not

19 Jan

“The best remedy for a gloomy rainy day is a yummy batch of freshly baked cookies. Ask me how I know?”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********************

Holy Crazoli, it was a gloomy day today. But, I was in a great mood. With no agenda in the morning, I didn’t roll out of bed until 11. Wow! Haven’t done that in a while. I actually had some interesting dreams that I remembered for a couple of hours, forgotten now. They involved intrigue, and some foreign Russian spy type people, but it was better than no dreams or bad dreams.

I took a couple of misty walks during the day, just bundled up, put on a hat and gloves, and enjoyed the moisture. I like to think of it as a free facial.

This evening, I decided to bake some cookies for my divorce support group at church. I usually try to bake something for the group. I had several rolls of cookie dough in the freezer that I made at Thanksgiving. Plus, I really need to make room in my over stuffed freezer. I freeze pretty much everything. I also had a zip lock bag with left over Russel Stover and Godiva fancy chocolates that I had frozen for a rainy day. Hey! It was raining!


I sliced and shaped the dough into small rounds and cut the fancy candy to place on top. I know, hard to believe that I have left over chocolates,  but I do. I receive many gifts of chocolate candy, and couldn’t possibly consume it all.

Well, I don’t want to brag…well, yes I do. These were probably the best cookies I ever made. They were enjoyed by many. 



The best remedy for a gloomy day…lots of cookies.

4 Responses to “Wednesday:) What’s Cookin’ Miss Toni~ Waste Not,Want Not”

  1. paulettemotzko January 20, 2017 at 10:14 pm #

    Bravo Toni…..it’s raining here in Las Vegas too. We are birds of a feather that I wish lived closer, so we could cook and bake together! On my baking drawing board today is some that make butter cookies with fresh nutmeg in them and I’m not sure what kind of bread it’s either going to be a whole week one with pistachios that I found out of a Knott’s Berry Farm cookbook, or some French bread baguettes.

    • toniandrukaitis January 21, 2017 at 12:52 am #

      That sounds yummy. Yes, it would be fun to meet, bake, cook and share stories and recipes. Although, I rarely follow directions or recipes. I’m so glad you wrote. You made my evening brighter.

  2. paulettemotzko January 20, 2017 at 10:15 pm #

    Search YouTube baking story on my cooking site Cooking Up a Storm With Miss Polly.com. 🙂

  3. paulettemotzko January 21, 2017 at 2:08 am #

    I shared your post on CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com.

Leave a Reply

