Tuesday:) Truly, The Tiny Things Can Mean So Much

1 Feb

“It has long been an axiom of mine that the little things are infinitely the most important.” ― Arthur Conan Doyle, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

*****************

My mundane days are probably boring and repetitious to you, but for me, they are filled with so many blessings and joys, that I always feel compelled to share. I started out with a a very vigorous Zumba class, killer on my bad knee, but I don’t care, I love my Zumba. After class, I met with my good friend Mary from church. We met at McDonald’s for coffee at 9:30. We see each other every Sunday when we greet before Mass, but she wanted to see how I’m coming along with my annulment paperwork. She is my good friend, but also my advocate. 

While we were talking about everything under the sun, frustration, hurts, pains, joys, and grandchildren, I told her, “You know what gets me through each day? I wake up every morning and say, sometimes to myself or sometimes out loud, thank YOU for your blessings.” I count my blessings every single day. I have a wonderful family and the greatest friends on earth. People have come into my life, and have been put in my path for a reason. Mary is one of those people. We talked until noon, and her husband called and asked if she would be home for lunch. She invited me to join them for leftovers and cookies. How do you say no to that?

Well, you know me and my signs. I parked down the street from her house, had lunch with her husband Pat and her adorable grandson. We all sang the Cookie Monster song, “C is for cookie.” So cute. When I left and walked back to my car, and started to open the door, right beneath my feet was a lucky penny. I had to walk back to show Mary and thank her again for the great day. I’m a lucky gal.


I smiled all the way home, singing my West Side Story song, “Something’s Coming,” and counted my blessings. When I got home, I did not pass GO or collect $200, (Monopoly reference) and went for a long walk. The sun was warm, the sky clear, and just the perfect day. After a long walk, I sat on the park bench for a break, and soaked up the sun, then walked some more.

When I got to my house, I checked  the mailbox, and there on the top of a stack of flyers and junk mail was a large drawing on cardstock. I read the crayon written message and just beamed. “Thank you for the brownies and cars! Cade and Corbin”


This was from the two little boys across the street that were playing firemen in their backyard the other day. They always say hi to me and tell me about their dog and what they’re doing. I took them some brownies and a couple of Matchbox cars. They were just thrilled. 

A tiny gesture from me and a beautiful handmade thank you note from two little boys, that’s what life is all about, sharing, caring, kindness, and gratitude. These are the things that mean so much.

Leave a Reply

