Wednesday:) What You See Is What You Get

1 Feb

“Keep your eyes open, and you’ll be amazed at what you will find.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********

“The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.” ― W.B. Yeats

**********

I called my mother, as it do every morning, and we chatted a long time. I take that back. I ramble on about my day, and she listens and giggles. She calls me “motor mouth.” I was telling her about meeting with my friend Mary yesterday and finding a lucky penny right by my car door. She believes in my lucky pennies and feathers and signs from heaven or the unknown, or wherever those mysterious signs come from.

When I started telling her about all the signs I receive, I told her, ” I don’t even think that I get these signs because I’m lucky. It’s because I’m looking, my eyes and my heart are open, and I believe.” I bet there are a bazillion lucky pennies or feathers or magical butterflies lying around or flying about. So many people don’t look. They’re wrapped up in their personal bubble or synced up to their phones and devices 24/7. I would talk.They don’t walk outside and marvel at the brilliant sunset or watch a hawk glide through the sky. They won’t notice the penny at their feet or the butterfly that lands on their shoulder. 


I like to see the good in people, therefore I have so many wonderful friends. I talk to strangers and hear interesting stories. I walk every day, and I see the glories of nature, and  I take pictures. I love words, so I write every day and share my stories. 


When I was on my late afternoon walk, Mr.Gary was sitting on his bench with a cane and  his dog Maggie. I stopped for a while and heard about his knee replacement surgery. He loves to talk, and the friendly 70 year young gentleman knows all the neighborhood kids. They even ring his doorbell and ask to walk his dog or to come out and visit. How would you know all this if you didn’t stop and say hello?

I continued my walk and Mr. Larry around the corner was cleaning out his garage. Another sit down and chat moment. Thank goodness it was too early for a beer. About half an hour later, I continued my walk on another glorious sunny McKinney day. About two blocks from home, I was speed walking at a pretty good clip, the sun in my face,  when my eye noticed something shiny in the grass next to the sidewalk. It was a lucky dime.(10 times luckier than a penny)

How I noticed the obscure coin in the dormant scruffy brown grass, I don’t know? I smiled because I realized,  I find things, not because I’m looking for them, it’s because they’re there for anyone to see. It just so happens that my eyes are open. 

“Keep your eyes open, and you’ll be amazed at what you will find.”

Leave a Reply

