Saturday:) Seriously Searching For Some Leftovers

5 Feb

Each new season grows from the leftovers from the past. That is the essence of change, and change is the basic law.~Hal Borland
**********

A chilly lazy Saturday. I bundled up around noon and went for a long walk. By the time I got home, all I could think about was a hot cup of tea and what I was going to have to eat. With no plans or invitations for lunch, I decided to brave and investigate the dreaded freezer. I usually close my eyes and grab something, but the freezer is packed so full, I was afraid of an avalanche. Turns out that I still had to dodge a few falling frozen weapons on my toes. 


I found some frozen pasta, a container of sauce, spinach, tortellini, and last but not least, a couple of slices of cheesecake. How’d I miss that? After I combined all the above, except cheesecake, I had way too much food. It’s a good thing that I have neighbors that don’t like to cook.



Every time I think I’ve made some headway, the freezer is still jammed packed full. I think things multiply in there while I’m sleeping.

2 Responses to “Saturday:) Seriously Searching For Some Leftovers”

  1. Reality Sandwiches February 9, 2017 at 4:18 am #

    Toni, I’ve been busy over on Instagram and haven’t been good at checking in with bloggers like you, that I’ve known for so long- I’m sorry! This topic caught me, as my husband I have started a new food regime: we never cook except on Sundays! We make a large pot of soup (last week a batch of Indian Dal), a casserole dish, turkey meatballs, and a batch of grain-free bread or muffins. Then we just heat-n-go. Its been sooooo nice to have nutritious lunches without effort! For dinner we eat one dish or another, and go out once or twice. Absolute break through. ^.^

    • toniandrukaitis February 9, 2017 at 4:49 am #

      That’s interesting. I don’t do instagram. Maybe I should. That sounds like a good idea, just cooking once a week and enjoying the fruits of your labor thlroughout the week. I know, a lot of people struggle with plans for cooking one day at a time, I believe in cook what you like and go from there, my problem is I lobpbe to cook, but I live alone, kids are gone, husbands gone (good riddance), so I cook and bake for friends and my local fireman p, who appreciate my brownies, anytime. Thanks for touching base. Have a good week,

Leave a Reply

