Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff

5 Feb

“Neither sugar nor salt tastes particularly good by itself. Each is at its best when used to season other things. Love is the same way. Use it to “season” people.” 
~Vera Nazarian

************

A cool Sunday morning, so Yay! I got to wear my sock monkey hat. Each week Imreceive more compliments and funny looks. Both are equally appreciated. There were quite a few friends and neighbors that I don’t always get to see at Mass this morning, therefore, a lot of hugs were exchanged. Then a few times, the next person behind my friend decided to give me a hug too. I didn’t know them, but now we’re on a no name hug basis. Pretty cool!
Today’s Gospel wa the “salt of the earth story.” Father Don told us about how, just like salt, it can be used for good or bad. He told us how sometimes the conquering armies would  spread salt all over the fields of their enemy to destroy the crops and fields. Salt was a precious commodore. It could cure meat, season, etc., but too much could ruin food destroy the land.

Jesus said to his disciples:
“You are the salt of the earth.

But if salt loses its taste, with what can it be seasoned?

It is no longer good for anything

but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

You are the light of the world.

A city set on a mountain cannot be hidden.

Nor do they light a lamp and then put it under a bushel basket;

it is set on a lampstand,

where it gives light to all in the house.

Just so, your light must shine before others,

that they may see your good deeds

and glorify your heavenly Father.”

~My take on it…we have to lead by example, do all things in moderation, and light up the world with our kindness. 


I like to think that I am unique. Perhaps I don’t stand out in a crowd, but if I was gone, I think a lot of people would honestly miss me. I know I’d miss them.

Leave a Reply

