Wednesday:) Wow! What a Wonderful Performance~ Shen Yun

8 Feb

A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song.

~ Chinese Proverb

鸟儿唱歌不是因为它们有了答案,而是因为它们有歌要唱。

niǎor chànggē bú shì yīnwèi tāmen yǒule dáàn ,érshì yīnwèi tāmen yǒu gē yào chàng 。

**************

Sunday afternoon, my friend Dorrie and I went down to Dallas to the AT&T Performing Arts Center to see The performance, Shen Yun. I don’t watch much TV lately, so I didn’t know anything about it, but she showed me some video clips on her phone, and I was all in. The costumes and dancing and music looked spectacular.

I drove and Dorrie navigated. It wasn’t hard to get to, but those of you who know me, know that I can get lost at the far end of my own subdivision. We arrived in about fifty minutes, found a great place to park on the street under a tree only a block away. Cool!

We walked around looking for a place to eat, but most places weren’t open until 5 pm, and the show started seating at 5:30. It was only 4 when we started searching and feeling hungry. I asked a police officer, who was coming out of the Seven Eleven, for any suggestions. He had none. So, Dorrie and I had a gourmet picnic lunch with fantastic finds and a Big Gulp Slurpee. It was a glorious sunny afternoon, so we sat at an outdoor table and feasted on our snacks. 


Now, doesn’t that look like a fabulous before the theatre dinner? Actually, it was pretty good.

We were pretty lucky that we had tickets for the Sunday evening showing because, guess what? It was Super Bowl Sunday, and the earlier performance was sold out, and the 6 pm seating was half full. (Did you notice I didn’t say half empty? I’m a half full kinda gal.)

From the very beginning, the narration, the orchestra, and the performers, everything was amazing. We weren’t allowed to take pictures. I found out the hard way when I tried to just get a selfie of me and Dorrie before the curtain even went up. A nice usher lady tapped me on the shoulder and said “No Photography” in a stern voice and pointed to the sign reflected on the closed curtain. Jeepers! I didn’t think you couldn’t take a selfie beforehand. Here’s my illegal photography….

The meaning of Shen Yun: Shen (神) is a general term for divine being, indicating the myriad deities, Buddhas, and Taoist immortals in Chinese spiritual traditions. Yun (韻) means rhythm and conveys a person’s entire bearing. … Shen Yun means: the beauty of divine beings dancing. (Or something like that.)

There were 19 different segments with colorful dancers or singers portraying or telling a different story. My favorite was Yellow Blossoms, with intricately choreographed dancers with fluffy yellow fans that undulated across the stage. No pictures of that, of course, but here are some Google approved photos.


Well, it was a fantastic evening. My senses and spirit were certainly stimulated and elevated. I think it was the best performance I’ve ever seen. A true cultural experience.

3 Responses to “Wednesday:) Wow! What a Wonderful Performance~ Shen Yun”

  1. GP Cox February 9, 2017 at 12:12 pm #

    sort of off topic here, but every time I see a picture of you, I have to give it a huge smile. You look so much like my aunt, a handsome, outgoing woman.

    • toniandrukaitis February 13, 2017 at 6:40 am #

      That’s so nice of you to say. And I enjoy reading all your informative stories, especially about the Philippines where my father served. Helps me understand those times, lives, and silent sacrifices so much more. Thanks.

      • GP Cox February 13, 2017 at 10:42 am #

        And we’re about to get back into the P.I. pretty soon!!

Leave a Reply

