Theme Song Thursday:) Where Flowers Never Fade

10 Feb

I will be the gladdest thing under the sun!

I will touch a hundred flowers

And not pick one.

– Edna St. Vincent Millay

********************

 Every now and then, I’ll buy some roses or other flowers just to brighten my day and dress up my table. I don’t buy live plants because, as my good friends will attest to, I have a black thumb and everything dies. On January 15th, I bought some flowers at Sprouts in the reduced clearance section for $3.99. I remember the date because it was after Mass, the day before the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. For $4, even if they lasted a few days, it would be well worth the expenditure.

I have no idea the name of these flowers, but whatever they are, they are spectacular. Anyone know what these are? Today is February 9th, and these are the same flowers sitting on my kitchen table. Twenty-six days later, they still look beautiful. It made me think that wouldn’t it be nice if we lived in a world “where flowers never fade.”
I know that eventually they will whither and die, but for now, I’m living in a world “where flowers never fade.”

Leave a Reply

