Sunday Sermon and Some Other Stuff

13 Feb

“Dreams and freedom are the same. In order for them to be, they come with a price.” 

― Criss Jami

**********

This morning I had the privilege of attending Mass at St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church in Stillwater, OK. It’s a lovely church, lined with beautiful stained glass windows, and a very large congregation. When I walked in, I asked one of the greeters if there was a particicular pamphlet or book to follow along, as I was just visiting. I found that all churches are different. One lady said that everything needed would be right at each pew. I stood in the back a couple of minutes until the priest processed in with the opening song. Then, one of the greeters stood next to me and asked if I had a place to sit. When I said I didn’t, she said, “Come sit with me.” That was so nice.

The Gospel today was a long involved explanation of all the things we need to do or not do to follow the Commandments. You shall not kill, but you should also not be angry with your brother. Don’t come to the altar if you have not reconciled with your brother. You shall not commit adultery, even in your heart. Do not take a false oath. Let your ‘Yes’ mean ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ mean ‘No.’Anything more is from the evil one.”

“Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandmentsand teaches others to do so will be called least in the kingdom of heaven. But whoever obeys and teaches these commandments will be called greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

*********

My take on it, and this is just my unworldly opinion.  There are many rules, regulations, commandments, and examples to follow, all open to interpretation. I think there is a basic good and evil.  In your heart, you know right from wrong. Basically, don’t make a promise you can’t keep, don’t lie, cheat, steal, kill, or harm anyone or any creature. You don’t need to do this for God or a promise of heaven. You do it so you can look in the mirror every morning. You do it for yourself. 

*********

After Mass, I thanked the nice lady who showed me such hospitality. I gave her my card and asked her to friend me on Facebook. I sure hope she does. I stayed after Mass to light a candle In the far alcove. I was delighted to find the iconic Virgen of Guadalupe.


I lit my candle and said my prayer. The pictures always say so much more than I can express in words.


A good Sunday. Prayers said. Prayers answered.

Leave a Reply

