Tuesday:) Toni’s Tip of the Day…Practice, Practice, Practice

15 Feb

“Art is like love, and love is like art. Both require patience and practice.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********

“You don’t need to justify your love, you don’t need to explain your love, you just need to practice your love. Practice creates the master.” 

― Miguel Ruiz

*********

Art is like love, and love is like art. Both require patience and practice. On this  Valentine’s Day, I decided to practicice my love of art. I don’t paint as often as I’d like to. I get wrapped up with the day to day, mundane trivial pursuits of life. So today, I took out my watercolor paints, paper, brushes, and scoured through my hundreds of photos for a reference to practice. I sat down without television, phone, or any distraction. I chose this reference of cardinals enjoying the cool evening and a full bird feeder. 

Remember, a photo is just a reference, guide, or suggestion for a painting. That’s my excuse, and I’m stickin’ to it. 


This photo was a bit dark and monochromatic, so I decided to brighten it up a bit.


Practice, practice, practice. I know I need a lot more practice, but each step leads me closer perfection. Practice makes perfect. I’ll never be perfect, but will enjoy myself on the journey.

Happy Valentine’s Day, my friends.

Leave a Reply

