Thankful Thursday:) Old Friends and New Friends

17 Feb

“Be genuinely interested in everyone you meet and everyone you meet will be genuinely interested in you” ― Rasheed Ogunlaru

****************

This Thursday, I had the pleasure of spending the entire day with old friends and new friends, from early in the morning till late at night. I count my blessings. Lots of counting. Much to be thankful for.

I started out the day with a fun Zumba class with my neighbors Diane and Sue, and a lot of other wriggling jiggling dancing ladies. When I got home, I took a long walk with my little doggie friend, Bella. After I got home, I asked my friend, Dorrie, to help me remove and carry my new file cabinet from the back of my car into the garage. I had about ten minutes to change and meet a couple of old friends for lunch at JC Burgers at 12:30. 

After lunch, I stopped at Albertson’s to pick up some eggs and canola oil. I go through a lot for brownies and cup cakes. I said hi to Miss Sherry, the feisty elderly clerk at the checkout. Pizzas were on sale, so I picked up a couple for my neighbor, Bella’s daddy, Mr. Mike, who basically lives on frozen pizza, and rarely goes to the store. He appreciated the gesture.

Wow, by now it was almost 5 pm.  Last week, I met a charming lady, Barbara, who had invited me to join her and her writing group that meets at Panera once a month at 5:30. More new friends, and writers, to boot. Cool!


Barbara, Deb, and Korey, all new and talented writers. Deb and Korey  also do their own illustrations. I’m excited to make some new writing friends.

Half Price Books was just a few doors down from Panera, so I went over there to check out the books. I especially love finding old vintage books. I had a nice conversation with Elena, the cute store cashier. We exchanged stories about our love for old books and finding interesting inscriptions, pressed flowers, and other memorabilia tucked away in between the pages. 


Another old friend…an old vintage book with yellowed and well worn pages. J. Fenimore Cooper, “The Deerslayer.”


Now, I sit here, writing my blog, with my old television friend, Jessica Fletcher and “Murder She Wrote.” 

Good night to all my old and new friends. I am very thankful for a wonderful day with old and new friends.

One Response to “Thankful Thursday:) Old Friends and New Friends”

  1. dancingpalmtrees February 17, 2017 at 7:14 am #

    I enjoy the quotes that begin your blog posts. Treasured thought pieces.

Leave a Reply

