Wednesday:) What’s Cookin’ Miss Toni? Disaster!

23 Feb

“I don’t cry over spilt milk, but don’t even get me started on broken handpainted glassware.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

***************

“You have to jump into disaster with both feet.” ― Chuck Palahniuk

***************

I was so excited about my donation for the upcoming EMPTY BOWLS charity event. I painted a very large glass vessel with white trees and red cardinals. It took a couple of days, and it turned out great. I wanted to make sure it was perfect, so I decided to bake it in the oven, as I do for all my other painted glassware. Heat setting makes the paint more duarable. I let it air dry for several days, then put it in the oven along with  a pair of bluebonnet martini glasses that I painted for Mr. Jerry. It’s supposed to bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.


Well, somewhere in between 15 minutes and KABOOM, I heard an explosion in the kitchen. I went to the other room and looked in the oven. Yep! Broken glass all over. I never had glass explode before.


The good news…the martini glasses survived and the oven window didn’t get damaged. The bad news…my beautiful bowl was smashed to smithereens, and there was a huge mess of broken glass and shards in the oven. 

Also…I cut my finger while cleaning up.


More good news, Mr. Jerry, my friend from church, really enjoyed his gift.


Here’s some info on the McKinney event for Empty Bowls at MPAC.

Empty Bowls McKinney was started in 2012 to combat hunger in northern Collin County. Artists, art studios and members of the community create handcrafted bowls. Guests are invited to sample soups from local vendors and to take home a handmade bowl as a reminder of all the empty bowls in the world due to hunger. Our event supports the food pantry at Community Lifeline Center.

Participating Restaurants Include: 

Bien Salsa, Blount Fine Foods, Caudalie Crest Winery, The Celt Irish Pub, Game Day Foods, Harvest Seasonal Kitchen, Hug’s Cafe, Local Yocal Farm to Market, McKinney’s Sweet Spot, Patina Green, The Pub, Rye Craft Food and Drink, SNUG on the Square, Square Burger, TUPPS Brewery and Whole Foods Market.

Tickets go on sale Tuesday, February 21, 2017. Small service fees apply. General admission tickets are $25 on-line and $30 at the door. Children 10 & under are free.

Thu, April 27, 2017

5:30 PM – 7:30 PM CDT

LOCATION
McKinney Performing Arts Center

111 North Tennessee Street

McKinney, TX 75069

Leave a Reply

