Tuesday:) Toni’s Tip of the Day~ Ingenuity

1 Mar

“Despite all our amazing ability, ingenuity, technology and industry humans are the one species who have not mastered the art of simplicity.” ― Rasheed Ogunlaru

****************

I asked a couple of stron men friends to come over Sunday and carry up a heavy file cabinet that I had in the garage. Mr. Mike and Mr.,Richard came over and carried it up to the spot where I had cleared a space for. Well, today, I decided that was not a good spot after all. But, the far wall where aimwanted to put it already had a heavy bookshelf and had to be moved about three feet.

I decided to try and take care of the job myself. I AM WOMWN. HEAR ME ROAR! Or was that a loud yawn? Som I decided to go downstairs and look for those plastic gliding furniture moving disc. You know where they were??? Neither did I! I looked everywhere. But, I was determined to move the darn things today. 

I emptied most of the heavy books from the book shelf and took some post office priority mailers and slid them under the corners. They are kinda slippery. That’s all I could come up with. I pushed and shoved and, voila, after much huffing and puffing. I got it into place. Then, I put the books back.


Now, for the file cabinet. Not as easy and a lot further to push and pull and wriggle. But, I shoved the mailers underneath and wiggled and shoved across the room. The final wiggling wasn’t as easy. I had to scoot it back with my knees. I’ve got one good knee and one bad one. But, it got there.


I have a funny feeling that I’ll find those glider things tomorrow when I’m not looking for them. But for today, if you don’t have the right tools or equipment…make something up. Necessity is the mother of invention. Or is it…Mothers invent things out of necessity?

Leave a Reply

