Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom and a Funeral

2 Mar

Please do not mourn me when I die

Instead, bring along a chocolate pie

No flowers that will just wilt and fade

Remember those brownies that I made

Bring cupcakes, candy, cake and more

A chocolate fountain by the door

Sit, and laugh, with the congregation 

My death should be a celebration

Of life and love and all the rest

Because it was the very best.

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********************

“The more death, the more birth. People are entering, others are exiting. The cry of a baby, the mourning of others. When others cry, the other are laughing and making merry. The world is mingled with sadness, joy, happiness, anger, wealth, poverty, etc.” ― Michael Bassey Johnson

*********************

I went to a funeral today, sitting in the back, with silent tears tricking down my cheek. I always cry at funerals. Here’s the thing. I had a dentist appointment this morning, and decided to stop at St. Michael’s on the way home to light a candle and say a prayer. Well, turns out there was a funeral. Instead of turning around and going home, I slipped into the back and participated in the Mass.

The funeral was for a man named Juan. The church was packed, and the entire Mass was in Spanish. I understood about 75% of what was said, but I’m not familiar with all the prayers in Spanish. I went up for communion with all the rest of the family and friends. A beautiful song was sung up above in the choir loft, and that’s when I cried. I cried for a family who lost a father, a son, a husband, and a friend. His teenage daughter gave a moving eulogy, which I totally understood, both in language and in feeling.

After Mass and everyone had exited, I went up to light my candle for my special intention, and I said a prayer for a man named Juan that I’d never met.

Leave a Reply

