Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff

6 Mar

“The greatest temptations are not those that solicit our consent to obvious sin, but those that offer us great evils masking as the greatest goods.” 

― Thomas Merton, No Man Is an Island

***************

A gloomy rainy Sunday, pretty much all day. The good news was, it was chilly enough to get one more chance to wear my sock monkey hat to church as I greeted at the door. Many smiles were accompanied by comments like, “Love the hat.”


Today’s Gospel was Mathew 4:1-11, the story of Jesus being tempted and provoked by  the devil after fasting in the desert for forty days. The devil told Him to change the stones into bread, and to throw himself down for the angels to attend to him. Then the devil showed him many kingdoms and wealth and said this could all be His if Jesus would bow down and worship him…

At this, Jesus said to him,”Get away, Satan!It is written:The Lord, your God, shall you worship and him alone shall you serve.”Then the devil left him and, behold, angels came and ministered to him.

My take on it… there will always be many temptations in life, and it may take all your strength to resist the devil, but if you have a good pure and loving heart, you will always do the right thing, no matter how difficult or tempting. The devil will always be there knocking at your door. DON’T ANSWER. 

***************

The first two readings were about Adam and Eve and the forbidden fruit. I had to laugh. I stopped for coffee after Mass with Mr. Jerry and Mr. Dave. I commented about Adam and Eve, saying that I seriously think there is a devil and he influences a lot of weak people. There are so many horrible people in the world who do terrible things. It has to be the devil.  Mr. Dave said that it was all Eve’s fault for tempting Adam with the apple. I said, “Oh, like Adam was so innocent. He was a big boy and could have said no. Sometimes you have to say no. You have to know right from wrong. We have free will.” Basically, I don’t think you can blame someone else for your sins. 

After coffee/tea at McDonald’s, I went over to Sprouts to get some more vegetables. I bought a whole mess of yummy veggies last Sunday. I cut up and prepared a big batch of beautiful roasted vegetables, red peppers, cauliflower, onions, carrots, all coated with olive oil and spices. It looked divine, enough to last all week. I’ll have to do it again this week.

I popped them in the oven covered for about an hour, they were about perfect, I turned off the oven and thought, hmm…I really like when they get a little golden brown and roasted, maybe just a couple of minutes on broil. So, I turned the oven back on and set the oven temp to broil. My plan was to stand there and watch, but noooooo… I walked over to my iPad to finish writing my blog. 

OH NO!!! I forgot the oven was on. Fifteen minutes later, and a faint smell of smoldering vegetables, I jumped up and cursed in several different languages. Some words I haven’t used in a long time. You know what they are!

I opened the oven and…yep…totally ruined, charred, smoldering. I’m very fortunate that I remembered after a few minutes and didn’t burn down my house. Even though the cute firemen at the station know me pretty well and enjoy my brownies and cookies, I’d be very embarrassed if I had to call in a 5 alarm vegetable fire. Maybe brownies, not vegetables.


The moral of the story…NEVER STEP AWAY FROM THE BROILER!!!!

One Response to “Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff”

  1. Shirley Dragas March 6, 2017 at 7:25 pm #

    Oh I think you should have called the cute fireman. How could you be that cold? You are in Texas! It is freezing here and people are running around without coats!!!

Leave a Reply

