Wednesday Words of Wisdom~ Public Service

9 Mar

I believe if a private citizen is able to affect public opinion in a constructive way he doesn’t have to be an elected public servant to perform a public service. 

~Warren Beatty

************
McKinney has their local elections coming up soon, and I’ll be the first to admit, I don’t follow politics much, local or national. But, I do try to and stay involved in city issues and have been to quite a few city council meetings, even addressing the council with concerns. 

I was invited yesterday to a meet-and-greet for one of the mayoral candidates, George Fuller. I’ve met George a few times at different venues, and have only known him as a business developer and talented musician. So, of course, my first concern was, what kind of mayor would he be, and how would he possibly have time to be an effective mayor? Why in the world would he want to be mayor?

During a two hour question and answer session at Zin Zen Bistro, all my concerns dissipated and my questions answered. And yes, I asked several questions, as did thirty or so other residents, including an extremely bright and inquisitive fourteen year old boy. He addressed issues of transportation, business development, the ever increasing property taxes, and much more. What I found was a very well informed and very concerned McKinney resident whose only objective is the betterment of his city.  He summed up his reasons for running  with, “How do I expect to be a community leader if I don’t serve?” 

Of course, I had to get a selfie with the next mayor of McKinney.

Then, I had to take a picture of George Fuller and my good friend Linda Grossman, world’s greatest realtor, and all around great gal.

If you live in McKinney, and not really sure who to vote for or not even sure you’re going to vote, take some time out to listen to the candidates. And DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT COMPLAIN about your taxes, roads, schools, and community if you don’t go out and vote. 

I think George Fuller has a lot to offer and is willing to step up to the plate and come out swinging. I endorse George Fuller for Mayor.

6 Responses to “Wednesday Words of Wisdom~ Public Service”

  1. Anne Royer March 9, 2017 at 1:54 pm #

    Thank you, Toni, for writing about George. Well-stated.

    • toniandrukaitis March 9, 2017 at 10:29 pm #

      Thank you Miss Annie. I think he will be a wise spokesman and leader for business and the arts.

  2. Kimberly March 9, 2017 at 9:23 pm #

    I agree with that you . I’ve had the pleasure of having serious conversations with Mr. Fuller regarding the future of our city. He responded with solid answers which gave me hope.
    He is a man of honor and integrity with a clear vision for the city I love.
    He has my vote!

    • toniandrukaitis March 9, 2017 at 10:28 pm #

      Thank you Kim. Now, all we have to do is get the word out to everyone we know or come in contact with. I brought it up at our monthly Art Club meeting. Several people didn’t know anything about either candidate. Even if we influence just one undecided or uncertain voter, we’ve done our part.

  3. Ricky Corona March 16, 2017 at 2:11 pm #

    I heard his platform and the more I hear him the more I’m convinced as I love his service thus far and contributions to our city . I wondered how he would have time. It’s going to be his job and from what I’ve seen he does nothing halfway. Good luck George you sounded great at the forum on Tuesday. You. just inspire me and I believe you will win . I went out on a limb that seemed pro the other candidate. I’m happy I did as many others followed suit . Now to he my extended family who all reside in McKinney some in homes you developed, to get out and vote . I am driving my Mom to the polls as She loves your family and thinks very highly of you. Good luck Mr Fuller and have a great day . Your friend Ricky ps your solo during purple rain is so clever sneakingin my favorite Clarence Clemons solo on guitar from 🎷

    • toniandrukaitis March 18, 2017 at 7:21 am #

      Thanks. George is a great candidate. Let’s get the word out and get him elected.

Leave a Reply

