Thursday:) This Is The Art Club of McKinney

10 Mar

“Documenting little details of your everyday life becomes a celebration of who you are.” ― Carolyn V. Hamilton

******************

The second Thursday of the month, The Art Club of McKinney meets in the historic Heard Craig Carriage House. The average attendance ranges from about thirty to fifty, but within that small group and those four walls, the amount of creative talent seated in those chairs is phenomenal. 

After a brief general meeting at 9:30, a beautiful spread of food and drinks was set up by the monthly hostesses. Then, members vote for artist of the month from art work brought in to display. A short break, then on to the speaker.

The March guest artist and demonstrator was Cindy Gilstrap. Like most artists, the timid yet amusing art journalist, was a little nervous speaking to the group. But, once she started sharing her ideas, tips, and passing around dozens of amazing journals, everyone was mesmerized. 


I think Mr. Angel is getting some inspiration. 


Talk about talent. See this photo? I was holding the journal in my left hand, holding my phone with my right hand, and I snapped the picture with my nose. Now, that’s talent!

After the regular meeting, there was a break for lunch, (like we didn’t eat enough wonderful food in the morning) and a dozen members signed up to return for a hands-on workshop with Cindy.


I sure hope some of the gals post and share their works of art on Facebook later.

I journal and write every day, but I don’t illustrate or have an art journal. Oh no! Another project to add to my long list of …maybe tomorrow.

One Response to “Thursday:) This Is The Art Club of McKinney”

  1. paulettemotzko March 11, 2017 at 11:05 am #

    You’re really wonderful story you creative here Toni. If you send me the pictures that you use for the story I will share it on TotallyInspiredMind.com and add in the photos later, giving you photo credits of course!

    TotallyInspiredPC@gmail.com

    Paulette Motzko

Leave a Reply

