Sunday Sermon and The Stupid Daylight Saving Time Change

13 Mar

“Nothing is predestined. The obstacles of your past can become the gateways that lead to new beginnings.” 

― Ralph H. Blum

*************

 It was still dark when the 7 a.m. alarm went off. Thank goodness the iPhone auotomatically changes the time because I HATE changing all the other clocks. And, seeing that I didn’t get to sleep until 3, so with only four hours of sleep, I wasn’t on my top game. 

I was doggie sitting, so I  fed Bella, took her for a walk, then got dressed for church. It was only in the 40’s, so I donned my sock monkey hat, scarf and gloves and off to church. More than half an hour greeting at the door, I was cold, but too tired to realize it.

Usually, I comment on the Gospel here, but today I was impressed by the Second Reading. It also went along with the hardships and frustrations in life. I’ve had my share, more than some, less than others, but I’ve always felt blessed.

Reading 2 2 TM 1:8B-10

Beloved:Bear your share of hardship for the gospel with the strength that comes from God. He saved us and called us to a holy life, not according to our works but according to his own design and the grace bestowed on us in Christ Jesus before time began, but now made manifest  through the appearance of our savior Christ Jesus, who destroyed death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.

My take on it…everyone has hardships to bear, but if you rely on the strength that comes from God, it makes it more bearable.

********************

After Mass, I stopped at Sprouts as is my tradition. Ah, dark chocolate covered raisins on sale $2.99 a pound. Score! I bought over 3 pounds and added it to my big container of mixed nuts that sits on the kitchen counter. I go through a lot of nuts. I’m a nut, what can I say? When I got back to my car, I realized that my clock needed to be changed because of Daylight Saving Time. You know what? This ain’t saving me any time. And, I don’t like change.

I turned on my car and attempted to change the time. I went to menu, then settings, then clock, then back to settings. I couldn’t figure out the dang thing. I do this every six months. Six months later, I forgot how I did it last time. But, what I do remember is that it took me several days to figure it out. I’d play with it, then give up. I was determined to figure it out before leaving the parking lot. I was prepared to sleep in the parking lot if necessary. 


Everything I tried seemed correct, but I couldn’t change the numbers. Help! I went back and forth for over fifteen minutes. Finally, I resorted to the unthinkable. I went into the glove compartment and took out the car manual. Duh!

The ten thousand page owners manual, (exaggerated, but close) was finally helpful after a good ten minutes of trying to find the section on changing the clock. Voila! I changed the time and didn’t have to sleep in the Sprouts parking lot after all. Yay!

I still have one old manual clock that I keep in the bathroom that I never change. I’ve had it nearly twenty years and have never figured out how to change it. It has no batteries and works on light or something, and it just won’t die. But, for six months it’s correct.

I had my share of hardships and frustrations and sleep deprivation today. I hope your daylight Saving Time frustrations were not as debilitating as mine. 

Leave a Reply

