Theme Song Thursday:) If I had a Hammer

24 Mar

“Love and kindness are the hammer and chisel that gently chip through barriers and long-held beliefs to reveal the magnificent soul contained within every human.” ― Molly Friedenfeld

*******************

It’s been a blustery windy day, fortunately, I’m well anchored, so I didn’t get blown away, but the wind went sweeping in one ear and out the other. A little joke…nothing between my ears to stop it. 

Afterwards, I decided to sit in the backyard, do a little reading, and enjoy the sunshine. As I sat there, I noticed that my back fence was swaying back and forth. Hmmm? I walked back there and saw that the corner section of fence was anchored to… absolutely nothing. It was floating, not connected to the fence next door or the other back fence. There was a center wooden post, that didn’t look sturdier than a fat toothpick. 

All I could think to do was prop up a heavy metal patio chair to prevent the cheap fence from falling over. That didn’t help much. I went in the house. I knew I had a hammer somewhere, but I don’t have a tool box with nails or screws. Mr. Ex took all that stuff. All I had were some small picture hangers and a few nails that I found in the street on my walks.

I attempted to pound a couple of nails from the end of my fence to the one next door. They just popped out with the first gust of wind. I found a piece of old wood to try and join the seems. That didn’t work either, and I had to run off to meet some writer friends at 5:30. I just left the chair to hold up the section.



As I sit here tonight, the fence is squeaking, squealing, and flapping in the wind. I just hope it is still there in the morning. I may have to give my neighbor, Mr. Larry, a call. He has a garage full of tools. (Not just beer) Maybe he’ll have an idea as how to secure the sections. The fence isn’t even three years old. Crazy! 

If I had a hammer…I’d…I’d have a few words with the guys who pretended to put up my fence.


2 Responses to “Theme Song Thursday:) If I had a Hammer”

  1. Shivangi March 24, 2017 at 2:39 pm #

    Hahaha… comic view of a troublesome situation… bravo!

    • toniandrukaitis March 24, 2017 at 4:06 pm #

      Thank you Shivangil. Sometimes laughter is the best medicine.

Leave a Reply

