Friday Friends, Brownies and Beer

25 Mar

“Good neighbors always spy on you to make sure you are doing well.” ― Pawan Mishra

****************

If you didn’t read my post from yesterday, my back fence was falling apart, flapping around from the strong winds. I tired to brace it up with a chair and a few rusty wrong sized nails. Didn’t work.


All night, I heard the squeak, creak of the wobbly section of fence. When I woke, I heard the rain and wind, fearing that my fence would be laying flat on the grass. Fortunately, it was still standing, but resting against the chair. The rain finally stopped and the sun came out around 1. I decided to go for my walk and hopefully run into Mr. Larry. 

I passed the garage, but it wasn’t open. Oh no! I walked slowly past the front of the house and I saw Mr. Larry by the front window. I waved and suddenly the garage door opened. I said it was to early for a beer as he reach for the fridge door. “It’s 5 o’clock somewhere, I know, but I have a handyman question,” I sputtered as I plopped in my chair.

Ms. Sandy came out just in time to hear my falling fence story. They both offered to come over and take a look at the problem. I’ve got the greatest neighbors! 

The doorbell rang about twenty minutes later, Mr. Larry with his power drill and Ms. Sandy with a box of 2 1/2 in galvanized deck screws. Long story short, they removed my makeshift patch and secured the fence with six screws. It’s a cheap, not that well installed fence, like all the others, but it’s a lot more secure for a while. (I should have taken a picture.)

Neighbors looking out for neighbors. After they left, I started on a batch of brownies to take over later. Of course, I had to make a funny face in the mix. It’s tradition.


I walked over later with some brownies and a beer for me, but the garage was closed. They were eating dinner. I was invited in, but I stayed only a minute, put my beer in the fridge, and said I’d finish my walk and stop over after dinner. 


About an hour later, the garage was open, I grabbed a beer from the fridge, sat and talked with nice neighbors, and all was right with the world once again.

Leave a Reply

