Saturday:) “Something To Talk About” and a Soggy Penny In a Puddle

26 Mar

Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.

 – George Bernard Shaw

***********************

Everyone should have a a “bucket list.” It shouldn’t be things you want to do before you kick the bucket and die,  but rather the fun things you’ve always wanted to do to fill your bucket, and see your bucket overflowing day after day while you’re still alive.

I used to be a self-proclaimed fraidy-cat. Well, I still am a nervous-nelly, but I’ve been expanding my horizons, testing my wings, and working on my bucket list. One of the things I was afraid to do was get up in front of people and sing. My friend Sherri Murphy invited me to go with her to sing karaoke last year. I was nervous and I sang sooo bad and off key, but I did it. That was on my bucket list.

So, when a few friends planned on going to the local VFW Hall to sing karaoke a few weeks ago, I thought, hmm…I should join them. I need to keep filling up my bucket and enjoy the challenges. I was a little nervous, but my friend Bob offered to do a duet with me. I had to think of a quick song for a duet. We sang Bonnie Raiit’s “Something To Talk About.” Fun song.

Here’s the song, in case you aren’t familiar with it. It’s not me and Mr. Bob singing. We’re not ready to go on the road yet. 


So, this past Thursday, the gang was going back. Bob and I sang the same song again, this time it was much better and pretty funny. Then, I sang a solo, one of my favorites, “Leaving On A Jet Plane.” No longer a fraidy-cat, just another off key karaoke kid.


I love to sing. I’m going back again next week. I always say, “I sing loud. I sing proud. I sing off key.” I’m not quitting my day job! Oops! I don’t have a day job. Lucky thing. Speaking of luck…

Today, while I was walking, my eye glanced down and found a lucky penny. I have no idea how I even saw it, with dirt and leaves and sitting in a puddle. Just meant to be, just for me. Of course, I picked it up, wiped it off and put it in my pocket. Lucky me.

Leave a Reply

