Thankful Thursday:) One Hundred Blessings

30 Mar

“Start each day counting your blessings, and each day will be blessed.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

******************

“With full appreciation , count your blessings no matter how small they might seem. Gratitude and unconditional self-love are the best gifts that you could ever give to your inner-self.”

~Edmond Mbiaka

******************

Yesterday, while I was reading posts by several interesting bloggers that I folllow, I ran across a story by Rachel Mankowitz. It was about the Jewish tradition of thinking of a hundred blessings each day. I shared the post. Here is a short excerpt…

“Trying to come up with one hundred blessings a day forces you to think about what you really feel grateful for on a daily basis. There are formal Hebrew blessings for tons of things: for fruit, bread, wine, and cake; for thunder and rainbows; and for the ability to go to the bathroom (Blessed are you, Lord, Our God, King of the universe who created man with many openings…if one of them were to be ruptured or blocked it would be impossible to survive).
Here’s one of mine:

Thank you God, the Universe, and Mother Nature, for the water I drink, the food I eat, the bed I sleep in, and the puppies who make me laugh every single day.”

*******************

Instead of just sharing the post, I decided to go one step further by implementing the concept. I take long walks everyday, and this is my thinking time. I’ll admit, sometimes the thoughts are not that happy or uplifting, sometimes just mundane plans for my day. Once in a while, I’ll sing show tunes out loud…yes I do!

This morning, I decided to see if I could think of one hundred blessings as I walked. I started out with… I woke up, I have a beautiful home, my health is good, (for an old gal). Then, I started just listing things in my head that I was thankful for…sunny day, blue sky, birds in the tree, the butterfly that greeted me. I listed my family and friends that I love so much and who have blessed my life…my two sons, Mom, two sisters, aunts, uncles, cousins. I listed more names…Ann, John, their children, Joe, Rose, their kids, and the list went on. When I got to friends, oh my, the names were endless…Shirley, Mike, Mikey, Debbie, Lin, Diane, Mary, Donna, and a hundred more, and all the friends back home. My wonderful friends here…Lynne, Sherry, Karen, Lynda, Sherri, and then all my neighbors who have become family…Diane, Richard, Kathy, Mike, Larry, Sandy, Sue, and so many more, Friends from tennis, church, artist and writing friends, police officers and firemen. Then, there are friends that I’ve never met, but we became friends on Facebook or WordPress or Twitter. I continued for over an hour and never ran out of names to add.


The moral of the story is, when you focus and try to think of one hundred blessings, it turns out there are hundreds, if not thousands. Also, when your mind is occupied thinking of blessings and positive things, you have no time to dwell on negativity. 

This evening, I shared this concept with my support group at church, and they thought that was a great idea. We decided to make that our homework assignment. Start each day counting your blessings and each day will be blessed.

Leave a Reply

