Sunday Sermon and Some Special Firefighters

3 Apr

“All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen.” 

― Ralph Waldo Emerson

************************

A gloomy rainy dreary Sunday here, but that’s OK. It was a good day to grab an umbrella and go to church, stop at the store, catch up on chores and more. 

I was still outside greeting at the front door when Mass started. The opening hymn was “Change Our Hearts.” I love that song now. The first few times I heard it and sang it over three years ago, tears would come streaming down my face. Now, I smile and sing with a happier heart. 

The Gospel was the story of Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead after he had been dead for four days. 

I am the resurrection and the life; whoever believes in me, even if he dies, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this? She said to him, Yes, Lord. I have come to believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one who is coming into the world. (Jn 11:25-27) 

Martha and Mary, the sisters of Lazarus, said that they believed and had faith that Jesus could perform this miracle, and He did. 

My take on it…a very common theme. If you believe, truly believe and continue to have faith, miracles can happen. Ask me how I know. That’s rhetorical. 

After church, I stopped at the store and scurried home just in time to beat the big storm that roared in. A lazy rainy day.

*************************

Yesterday was a fun sunny day. I had to write my April Fools Day story, so I’m saving my firemen post for today. I’ve been baking my Peep bunny cupcakes for several years, and I always take some to neighbors and my local fire stations. They appreciate the effort, not to mention my wonderful baking skills.

Firefighter Thrasher answered the door at Station 5. He gave me a big smile and invited me back into the kitchen to say hi to the other guys.

My neighbor Diane went with me to Station 2 on our way to lunch. When I went to the front door, no one answered, but the large bay garage door on the side was open, and the fire truck was gone. They must have all been out on a call. Seeing as I was very familiar with the station, we just walked in the back unlocked door by the kitchen. I called out, “Hi, anybody here?” No one answered, so I just left the cupcakes on the counter with a note that just said, “Thanks for all you do.” They all know who brings the blue Peep cupcakes.


It was a good weekend. I hope you had a good one too.

Leave a Reply

