Friday:) Finally, A Fresh New Dramatic Change

8 Apr

“We can’t be afraid of change. You may feel very secure in the pond that you are in, but if you never venture out of it, you will never know that there is such a thing as an ocean, a sea. Holding onto something that is good for you now, may be the very reason why you don’t have something better.” ― C. JoyBell C.

*************

Those of you that know me know that “I DON’T DO CHANGE!” I’m a nervous Nelly scaredy-pants kinda gal. But today, when I went over to the beauty shop with Mom, I thought, hmmm….maybe time for a change. Mom was getting a haircut, so I thought maybe I should get a haircut too. I’ve had long hair for six decades. Yep, time for a change. A big change.

When I was going through my messy divorce in 2013, I went to my local Great Clips and told the lady that I wanted my hair cut short like a boy, “Just whack it all off.” I was distraught and ready for an extreme change. The nice Polish hairdresser immediately said, “No, no. I no cut short. I cut, you cry.” I told her I was serious, but she insisted that I would cry. She said, “One lady ask me cut hair short. I do and she cry.” After her warning, I changed my mind and just got a trim of about four inches.

But today, I was ready for a big change.  I asked the nice hairdresser, Maria, for a short short haircut. She didn’t try and talk me out of it and started snip-snipping away. Huge piles of brown locks lay on the tile floor. She styled and curled it and I think it looks pretty good. What do you think?


Afterwards, I made us some lunch. A couple of Toni Tacos. It’s Lent, so I made pinto bean tacos. Mom doesn’t like oil, so I fried them in butter. They were yummy,


Later, we went downstairs to listen to one of the residents play piano.

Now, it’s time for my Black Russian Friday. Change and tradition. It’s all good. Cheers!


Well, it’s not even April Fool’s Day, but I thought I’d see if you liked my short haircut. It’s really my Mom’s wig. It looks much better on her than me. I’m brave, but not that brave. And…I don’t do change.


2 Responses to “Friday:) Finally, A Fresh New Dramatic Change”

  1. Dan Hen April 8, 2017 at 4:29 pm #

    Short hair is a good look for you ( my humble opinion ).

    • toniandrukaitis April 9, 2017 at 5:12 am #

      You are too kind, Mr. Dan. I thought I looked rather like my mother with short hair.

Leave a Reply

