Theme Song Thursday:) Old Friends

14 Apr

“While they talked they remembered the years of their youth, and each thought of the other as he had been at another time.” ― John Williams

****************

The only thing better than meeting with old friends is… well, I don’t think there’s anything better than that. Today, Shirley and Mike came over to visit me and Mom in Elgin. We’ve known them for fifty years. Yep! Fifty years. 

I was a shy fourteen year old city girl when we moved to the suburbs for the first time. Hickory Hills seemed like a millions miles away from my old house and my old friends in Chicago. I was scared, nervous, and excited, all at the same time. The first people we met were the nice people next door. Shirley and Mike were a young twenty-something couple who immediately took me under their neighborly wings, and were the kindest neighbors I’ve ever known. 

Shirley always loved me like a daughter, and always said that my mom was like her adopted mom. We’ve been family friends for fifty years. So, when Shirley and Mike walked in the door with a beautiful lily plant, she hugged Mom and started to cry. Tears of joy.

We sat and chatted and reminicesed about the old days, the old neighborhood, friends, and neighbors. We shared lovely memories and smiles. It was as if fifty years ago was yesterday, because it was. With old friends, there is no time frame, no yesterdays, just today. 


Me and Mom and Shirley and Mike, just old friends, now and forever.

One Response to “Theme Song Thursday:) Old Friends”

  1. Shirley Dragas April 15, 2017 at 12:48 am #

    Oh Toni that was so beautiful. And here I am crying again. I am so glad we went to visit you and your Mom. I can’t wait for her 90th Birthday party! You guys are the best and always the best neightbors ever!!!

Leave a Reply

