Easter Sunday:) Sunday Sermon and MORE Cute Firemen

17 Apr

“Do not abandon yourselves to despair. We are the Easter people and hallelujah is our song.” ― Pope John Paul II

******************

“Easter says that every ending ever experienced by man is exquisitely crafted to find its own ending at the feet of a fresh beginning.” 

― Craig D. Lounsbrough

*****************

Easter is a time of renewal, rebirth, resurrection and rejoicing. As a child, sometimes I concentrated more on new clothes, Easter eggs, candy and family gatherings. As I matured, I learned the true meaning of the special day. Appreciation.

John 3:16

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
Mom and I had fun making four dozen cupcakes with the cute bunny Peeps, complete with mini marshmallow tail and two jelly beans in front.


It was a labor of love, and silliness. If you know me, lots of silliness.


We baked through the night and freshly frosted and decorated through the morning.

Oh, I forgot to show you the funny face I made before I started mixing. Yes, lots of silliness.

We went downstairs for the 10:30 Catholic Mass, and we brought a cupcake for everyone there, and a few extra for family.

The Gospel today, of course, was about finding the stone in front of the burial place of Jesus moved away and and the tomb empty, the burial clothes on the ground. The disciples and followers realized what had occurred. Thus, we have the first Easter. Alleluhlia! 

My take on it….the ultimate sacrifice redeemed us all. The small sacrifices we make for the good of others could never compare, but are a tribute to He who did. Also, a good lesson on appreciating all those who have and currently sacrifice for us.

*******************

My post from yesterday was about the screeching fire alarm here at Mom’s place and the five fire trucks that were dispatched to The Greens of Elgin. Mom and I decided that it would be nice to share some bunny cupcakes with the local firemen who sacrifice so much for their community, willing to put their lives on the line every day. I went over to Elgin Station 2 with a dozen cupcakes. I showed them Mom’s picture above, and told them that we appreciated all they do for the community. (I’ve expanded my Firefighter cupcake drive-by stops to another city and state. I hope my McKinney MFD guys don’t get jealous.)


Mom still isn’t able to get around too well yet, but she had enough energy to take her walker down the hall to a few neighbors. (Hmmm? I wonder where I get it from?)


Isn’t Mom adorable!

2 Responses to “Easter Sunday:) Sunday Sermon and MORE Cute Firemen”

  1. Shirley Dragas April 17, 2017 at 2:31 am #

    I knew it !!!! You made those cute firemen cupcakes!! Too funny. Love you.

  2. Bonita April 17, 2017 at 3:29 am #

    U r such a good soul!

Leave a Reply

