Sunday Sermon and Some Other Stuff

8 May

“A good shepherd encourages and inspires each one that works alongside him.” 

― Pastor Adelaja Sunday

***********************

A gorgeous Sunday morning. It was also First Communion Sunday, with children making their first Communion at all Masses. The girls were all dressed in white, some with lovely veils, all looking like little angels. The boys were all dapper in dark suits and ties. (Not the greatest photos with children in motion.)


The Gospel today was the story of the shepherd leading his flock, and they recognize his voice and follow…

But whoever enters through the gate is the shepherd of the sheep.The gatekeeper opens it for him, and the sheep hear his voice, as the shepherd calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.When he has driven out all his own, he walks ahead of them, and the sheep follow him, because they recognize his voice. But they will not follow a stranger; they will run away from him, “because they do not recognize the voice of strangers.”

My take on it…we need to recognize the voice of our own shepherd and follow, and not be distracted or follow strangers or those who would lead us astray. They do not have our best interest at heart. 

****************

Now, the other stuff, I stopped for coffee/tea at McDonald’s with Mr. Jerry after Mass, as we do almost every Sunday. Before we left, I noticed a lady sitting by the window, eating breakfast all alone. I said goodbye to Mr. Jerry then stopped by the solitary diner and asked if I could join her. She invited me to sit down.


This is my new friend, Lynn. We talked for about an hour about friends, family, McKinney, and life in general. We had a lot of things in common. She said she sometimes has breakfast at Snug on Sunday, so I said we’ll have to meet on the square one Sunday. I gave her my card with my name and email, and asked her to friend me on Facebook. I hope she doesn’t forget or doesn’t lose my card. (Or doesn’t think I’m a nut) You can never have too many friends…and…you can never have too many friends name Lynn. I happen to have about twenty if not more friends named Lynn, Lynne, Lin. All lovely ladies and good friends. 

Leave a Reply

