Saturday:) Sitting Still Just Ain’t My Thing

14 May

“Everything takes time. Bees have to move very fast to stay still.” ― David Foster Wallace

**********************

I have come to the conclusion that sitting still just ain’t my thing. I like to keep busy. I like to be with people. I like to keep moving. I’m probably like the bee in the quote, I have to move very fast to stay still.

This morning I got up and called Mom, and talked her ear off. She calls me “motor mouth,” Then, I called my sister, talked a while, put on my gym shoes and went for a walk. I walked in the door and immediately started making two pans of brownies. One for the party I was going tomat 4:30 and the other for neighbors and friends. I always say, “It’s just as easy to make two batches of anything, as it is to make one.” Of course, I had to make my funny face in the mix before adding all the ingredients and stirring.


While the brownies were in the oven, I put together the containers, chips, and my corn/bean salsa to take to the party.


While the brownies finished baking, I turned on some music and did 150 sit ups. Yes, I’m crazy, but I also have a big belly. The brownies were cooling while I was on the phone with a friend for about half an hour, then quick, a super fast shower, and scurry off to the party. But, first, a quick stop with some corn salsa on my way to my neighbor Diane. They were having a barbecue with out of town family. I thought they’d like some.

The party at Linda’s was very nice. Friends, family, little kids jumping in the pool and running around, karaoke, and tons of food.


I left the party around 7:30, walked in the door around 7:45, did not pass go, did not collect $200, put on my gym shoes and went for a long walk until well after dark. I was able to capture a glimpse of sunset on my way.


When I got home, I walked over to Diane’s to give her some brownies. She was already in her Jammies. Then, I knew Kathy across the street was out to dinner, so I just got my key to her house and put some brownies on her kitchen counter. She loves my drop by surprises.

Ah, now, I put my feet up, drank two tall glasses of water and started to write about my adventures. I need to clean up the messy kitchen, wash the dishes, maybe have a glass of wine, and perhaps do a few more sit ups.(Remember the big belly? Remember the brownies?) 

Nope! I don’t sit still. Life is too short to sit still.

2 Responses to “Saturday:) Sitting Still Just Ain’t My Thing”

  1. dancingpalmtrees May 14, 2017 at 1:25 pm #

    I’m the opposite I suppose that’s because my job has me going 24/7/365 while I’m there so when I’m off it’s time to chill and relax. Chillaxin’!!

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    • toniandrukaitis May 14, 2017 at 9:13 pm #

      If I had your job, I’d be too exhausted to go out and play all day. I am truly blessed. I hope you get a chance to play once in a while. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

