Sunday:) Mother’s Day Memories

15 May

Abraham Lincoln“All that I am or ever hope to be, I owe to my angel mother.” 

― Abraham Lincoln

*******************

I use that Lincoln quote all the time when I refer to my angel mother, Trini. She is by far the sweetest, kindest, most loving mother ever placed on this planet. I have been blessed and honored to be raised and loved by this lovely lady. She will be celebrating her 90th birthday in just a few weeks. She has been an inspiration to her three daughters, all her siblings, family and pretty much everyone who has ever met her. Love you Mom.

 

This is one of my favorite pictures because it captures our silly nature, not to mention our common love of ice cream.

I have also been blessed with two wonderful sons, Joe and Matt. They are grown men, but will always be my babies. I miss them very much, but now being a new grandma, I plan on visiting more often. Look out! Nothing sillier,  mushier, crazier and more annoying than a new grandmother.


Matt and Joe, the loves of my life. I wrote a little poem way back in 2010 when I stumbled across some of the silly keepsakes I had tucked away in a drawer. There are literally hundreds of letters, school papers, school crafts, baby clothes and toys. I still have all those gifts and memories and I will never part with them. 

NOODLE NECKLACE

I miss that noodle necklace

And the handprint plaster plaque

Those earrings made of Play dough
How I wish those days were back
When you raced home after school
A secret present just for me
 I had to keep my eyes closed
To wrap before I could see
Several yards of gift wrap needed
Two big rolls of tape were used
Then my hands were gently treated
To a huge package wrapped and glued 
I tore it open with pleasure
There printed in glitter of blue
The gift I always will treasure
With a card that said, “I LUV YOU.”
I miss that noodle necklace……
~Toni Andrukaitis Mother’s Day 2010
Now, I’m a grandmother and there is yet another generation to cherish and love with all my heart. Motherhood is the best gig ever.


Happy Mother’s Day to all the beautiful ladies out there who are mothers, grandmothers, great-grandmothers, but especially those wonderful women who were not blessed with children of their own. They give their love and share their gifts and nurture and take care of so many people. This is their day too. It should also be called…HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY.

Leave a Reply

