Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom~ What a Difference a Day Makes

18 May

“Kindness can transform someone’s dark moment with a blaze of light. You’ll never know how much your caring matters. Make a difference for another today.” ― Amy Leigh Mercree

*********************

Sunday was Mother’s Day. I went to Mass and stopped at McDonald’s for an iced tea and sat there all alone. I was feeling sorry for myself and all alone, just a little bit. But, as I sat and watched people zip in and out, and cars shimmy by in the drive-through, I counted my blessings. I have two fine sons, a wonderful family, and more wonderful friends than I can count.

When I arrived home, barely putting my key in the front door, when I saw the box of flowers that my son Matt sent, especially to be delivered on Mother’s Day. I brought the box inside and opened it. The waterworks streamed down my face. I cried uncontrollably. I’m still not sure why. They were happy tears, but I just couldn’t stop. A flood of memories and photos of two small boys flashed through my mind in an instant. Kinda like a brain freeze of memories. (Teary eyed)


The flowers still hadn’t opened when I put them in the decorative pink mason jar that came in the box, along with a box of gourmet chocolates. The amazing thing is, hour after hour during the course of the day each iris and lilly opened up just a little bit. By evening, they were about half way  opened. Matt called me and wished me a happy Mother’s Day and we talked a long time. He was talking to his elderly mother, (not really that old) but I was talking to my five year old who just barely out of diapers, and not the grown man in his thirties.

Joe called later and asked if I received their card. I hadn’t, but thanked him in advance. I got to talk to Lindsay, my lovely daughter-in-law, and wished her a happy Mother’s Day, her first. This was my 35th. 

When I woke up Monday morning, the flowers were in full bloom in all there glory. What a difference a day makes. 


When the mail came Monday in the afternoon, there was a beautiful card from Joe, Lindsay and Belle. My sister sent me a beautiful card with a heartfelt message and some cool stamps. What a difference a day makes.


Cheers! I always start each day counting my blessings. Some days I may be a little sad, some days hysterically happy, but EVERY day, there is something to be grateful for. What a difference a day makes.

Leave a Reply

