Sunday Sermon and Some More Santa Fe

22 May

“All the world is made of faith, and trust, and pixie dust.”

~J. M. Barrie

**********

I had the honor of attending Mass at the Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi in Santa Fe. A beautiful cathedral and lovely service. I especially liked that the hymns were sung both in English and Spanish. 

The sermon was a simple one. My take on it… Just follow the commandments. It doesn’t get easier than that. Even if you don’t particularly believe in a stone tablet that God engraved on a mountain top and gave to Moses, all the principals apply. Honor God, parents, spouses, neighbors, don’t lie, cheat, steal, and treat EVERYONE with respect. Easy peasey. 

The Gospel ends…
Whoever has my commandments and observes them is the one who loves me. And whoever loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him.”



I lit a candle and offered my prayer and petitions. 

After church, the plaza was packed with people on a lovely spring day. There was an antique car show, and entertainment at the bandstand of Folclorico Dancers. Dancers of all ages in colorful costumes. 


Great old cars lined all four streets of the plaza. 

Another fine day in Santa Fe. 

7 Responses to “Sunday Sermon and Some More Santa Fe”

  1. paulettemotzko May 22, 2017 at 8:33 pm #

    You have no idea how I would have loved to been there with you on Sunday in Sante Fe Toni! Are you Catholic too? Just another thing we have in common out of the multitudes.

    Beautiful shrine, festive dancers and cool cars. …what more do ya want? Great friends and great food would be the grand finale for me. Paulette Motzko

    • toniandrukaitis May 23, 2017 at 4:14 am #

      Oh, you would really love Santa Fe. Yes, I’m Catholic, too. The Cathedral of St. FRancis is beautiful and traditional with all the gold and statues, and the mission of San Miguel, the oldest church in the U.S. I said simple and serene. We just happened to luck put to be here when the car show and dancers were in the plaza, today, we drove to Bandelier to see the cliff dwellings. More on the horizon for sight seeing.
      Take care. Toni

      • paulettemotzko May 23, 2017 at 4:35 pm #

        That wasn’t luck..
        .that was God.

        HE PUT YOU IN THE RIGHT PLACE AT THE RIGHT TIME BECAUSE HE KNEW YOU’D DOCUMENT YOUR AWESOME EXPERIENCES AND SHARE THEM WITH THE WORLD. 🙂

      • paulettemotzko May 23, 2017 at 4:38 pm #

        Remind me where you live again….I would love to talk by an old fashioned telephone sometime……..

  2. toniandrukaitis May 24, 2017 at 3:48 am #

    I live in McKinney Texas, about an hour north of Dallas. Wonderful city, great people. Arrived in ’04 bit born and raised in Chicago area,

  3. agriffith1 May 24, 2017 at 2:13 pm #

    Que Bonita! Sunday I visited San Miguel Mission in same city CA. A statue of St. Francis of Assisi was among rich array of historical artifacts at this old and beautiful mission. I’d like attend service at the mission some Sunday. Ps I retire again in two weeks and am coming to McKinney this summer.

    • toniandrukaitis May 24, 2017 at 3:08 pm #

      Retire again? How cool! You’re like a rock star. You retire, then come back, then retire, hope this is for good. Look forward to seeing you this summer. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

