Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom:) Be Careful What You Ask For

1 Jun

“Be careful what you ask of Heaven; it might be granted.”

~ Isabel Allende

***************

I like the quote about being careful what you ask for because, most of the time, I’m pleasantly surprised.

Yesterday, after I got home from my trip, I put my feet up and was looking at my emails and checking Facebook. My suitcase and dirty laundry and mounds of stuff from my car were all over the place. I didn’t care. I needed to catch up with friends and family via the almighty Internet. 

When I was on Facebook, I scrolled through pictures and posts. I saw that my dear friends Sherri and Michael were having dinner at Harry’s on the Harbor, not that far away. People were commenting at the nice view or the great yummy looking burgers. I commented that it wasn’t exactly Black Russian Friday, it was only Tuesday, BUT I could make an exception if they wanted to stop by for my famous Friday Black Russian of Tuesday. 

Well, about half an hour later, my doorbell rang, and there they were.


I love my new RING DOORBELL system. It captured this fun moment with the Murphy’s. We have this ongoing joke where we take pictures of each other with our arms wide open with a big welcome. Sherri took a picture of me. Look how happy I am. Great friends!


We drank our Black Russians and chatted for over an hour, catching up, and sharing travel stories.


Later that evening, I told my sister about my busy day, driving four and a half hours home, unpacking, exhausted, etc., then mentioning to the Murphy’s on Facebook that evening that they were welcome to drop by for a Black Russian if they were in the neighborhood, and she said, “You have to be careful what you ask for.” And I replied, “I know! Isn’t great?”

I couldn’t have asked for a nicer surprise.

One Response to “Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom:) Be Careful What You Ask For”

  1. Bonita June 3, 2017 at 4:47 pm #

    Lotsa smiles & love seen herešŸ¤“

Leave a Reply

