Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom~ Walk a Mile in My Shoes

8 Jun

“Walking a mile in someone else’s shoes isn’t as much about the walk or the shoes; it’s to be able to think like they think, feel what they feel, and understand why they are who and where they are. Every step is about empathy.”― Toni Sorenson
****************

I often wonder how many pairs of gym shoes I’ve worn out during my many years of walking. How many miles have I walked, yet really haven’t wandered more than a mile or two from home? I’ve walked just about every day since I moved to Texas in ’04, and the 17 years in Hawthorn Woods, IL. Then, a few years in New Jersey. So, if you calculate about two miles a day for, let’s say 300 days a year for over 30 years…hmmm? That’s a minimum of 20,000 miles, but probably more than that. Some days I’ll walk 4 or 5 miles in one day. And where has it gotten me? It always takes me to a very good place.

Chicago is about 900 miles from McKinney, TX.  I could have walked there 22 times.

5,573 miles Distance from McKinney to Rome.  I could have walked there 3.5 times.(But I’d have to swim a little, but I don’t know how to swim.)

Well, you get my point. I walk for my health, for my recreation, and for my soul. It’s my thinking time, my happy time, my crying time. I need my walks.

But,  I do go through a lot of gym shoes. I’ve worn the soles off of these poor guys. 

Worn soles for worn souls. That’s why I share my daily blog. So, now you CAN walk a mile in my shoes. 


BY STEVE MUELLER LAST EDIT: MARCH 31ST, 2017 CONSCIOUS LIVING

The earliest traces of the enlightening proverb date back to the Cherokee tribe of Native Americans, who warned: “Don’t judge a man until you have walked a mile in his shoes”  

Nelle Harper Lee, an American authoress, was seemingly inspired by the saying of the Amerindians in her book “To Kill a Mockingbird,” where she wrote:

“You never really know a man until you understand things from his point of view, until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.
Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird. J.B. Lippincott & Co., 1960

Leave a Reply

