Friday:) Firsts and Seconds and Pepperoni Faces

17 Jun

“Whenever a thing is done for the first time, it releases a little demon.”

~ Emily Dickinson

*****************

In the past few years, I’ve had a lot of firsts in my life, some some good, some bad, some happy some sad. I remember on July 10th, 2014, I checked into the hotel for my son’s wedding rehearsal and wedding the next day. It hit me like a ton of bricks. I was 60 years old, and had never checked into a hotel by myself. I’d never stayed alone in a hotel. It was the beginning of many FIRSTS. Oh yes, first divorce and it will be the last.

Since then, I’ve been to the movies alone, have gone to restaurants and parties alone, driven hundreds of miles, and many other things that some people do without thinking. I’ve always been such a scaredy cat, but now I’m turning into Wonder Woman. (Just a little movie plug.)

Today, I rented a car for the first time. Can you believe that I’ve never done that? It was empowering, and I’ll admit, a little scary. Mostly because I’m directionally challenged and a pretty lousy driver. But, thanks to the iPhone and navigation systems, I’m a new liberated woman. 

I actually took a picture of the car and license in case I park it somewhere and forget what the car looks like. Challenged people take extra precautions.


So, that was a first, and now for the seconds. I’m in Chicago, and one cannot go Chicago without having some deep dish pizza. My son, Matt, picked up the pizza, and we sat on his rooftop deck, overlooking the magnificent skyline in the distance. We ate pizza, enjoyed the view, and I had seconds. Two pieces of pizza,


Oh, it never fails. I always seem to see funny faces in my food. Here is Mr. Pepperoni Face. 


I bit off his chin before I noticed his face.

Firsts, Seconds and Mr. Pepperoni.

Leave a Reply

