Sunday Sermon and Some Other Stuff

18 Jun

“There are people in the world so hungry, that God cannot appear to them except in the form of bread.” 

― Mahatma Gandhi

*******************

An early morning getting ready for 8 o’clock Mass at St. Mary of the Angels on Hermitage in Chicago. The church is only about a ten or fifteen minute walk from Matt’s apartment. The city streets are quiet early on a Sunday. St. Mary’s is a gorgeous traditional ornate church both inside and out.


The Gospel today was about “the bread of life,” celebrating Corpus Christi. A Communion we are called to share with God and each other, a symbol of nourishment for the body as well as the soul.

Jesus said to the Jewish crowds:”I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.”

My take on it… everyone needs nourishment for the body, bread to sustain us, BUT, we also need nourishment and food for the soul, a faith, a bread to feed our inner beings. The bread is a symbol, and Catholics believe that when the  Eucharist is consecrated, it indeed becomes the flesh of Christ. It is food for the soul.



I always light a candle and say a prayer for family and friends when I visit a different church. Today, I lit two different candles. It is such a huge beautiful church, I couldn’t decide.


When I walked outside after Mass, taking pictures, and looking at the vantage points, a couple of little white butterflies, or they could be moths, but I call them butterflies, fluttered around me, almost hidden by the matching white flowers. I have this thing about butterflies being a good sign, lucky symbol.

After Mass, Matt and I walked a few blocks and had breakfast at a nearby deli and sat up on the rooftop to enjoy the morning.

It’s been a great Sunday so far. I hope you are all having a good day AND 

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to all the fathers out there.

Leave a Reply

