Sunday Sermon, Super Scrumptuous Soup, and Some Turkey Salad

3 Jul

“Leftovers make you feel good twice. First, when you put it away, you feel thrifty and intelligent: ‘I’m saving food!’ Then a month later when blue hair is growing out of the ham, and you throw it away, you feel really intelligent: ‘I’m saving my life!'”
– George Carlin

**************

Another lovely Sunday morning. It was already a bit warm and muggy at 8:20, but while I greeted at the door at St. Gabriel’s, I popped inside inbetween the surges of parishioners. Ah, air conditioning, a gift from God. (Actually, in 1902, the first modern electrical air conditioning unit was invented by Willis Carrier in Buffalo, New York.)

Today’s Gospel, in my humble opinions, was about priorities…

Gospel – Mt 10: 37-42

Jesus said to his apostles: “Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it…

Father Don commented that it’s not necessarily that we are expected to give up our life or die for our faith, but we must make it a priority. 

My take on it…sometimes people focus too much on material things, i.e. Wealth, status, possessions, money, cars, or even friends or family. Family, friends, and people are important, but without God in your life, the rest doesn’t matter. You need to know where the blessings came from.

***********

After church, I came home and tackled the leftover turkey. I made a small turkey the other day, and was looking forward to all the meals the leftovers would provide. I chopped and diced and sliced away at vegetables and the turkey parts.


I made two big pots of turkey soup.


Then, with the nicest pieces of turkey, I diced and sliced, and made some turkey salad.


My secret is, I finely dice a little onion and celery, (I don’t measure) but sauté it a little, then soften a package of cream cheese, and about an  equal part of mayo, salt, pepper, and quite a few shakes of garlic powder.


When I was done, (about 5 hours later) I had 5 containers of soup and one of turkey salad, and there was some soup still left on the stove for my dinner. 

I’m a big fan of the leftover challenge. I think I did a pretty good job.

2 Responses to “Sunday Sermon, Super Scrumptuous Soup, and Some Turkey Salad”

  1. dancingpalmtrees July 3, 2017 at 7:08 am #

    Wow!! This looks really delicious and tasty. The only thing I can’t have is the Mayo. I’m allergic to mayo. Also dairy products. Wish we both had Transporter Rooms like in Star Trek so you could beam some of this mouthwatering food to me!! From Texas to Brooklyn, NY!! LOL!! 🙂 😀 ❤

    • toniandrukaitis July 6, 2017 at 5:35 am #

      Ah, sounds like you are a Star Trek fan too. Yes, I’d love to transport you here for a visit, then beam our molecules over to Brooklyn. Maybe some day, my friend. Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

