Saturday:) Sizzling Sun Then A Deluging Downpour

8 Jul

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky.~Rabindranath Tagore
*********************

I went out for a walk around noon. What was I thinking? It was hot enough to cook burgers on your car hood. No, I didn’t try…hmm? Maybe another time. But, the walk was too hot, somewhere in the 90’s. The sun was cooking my skin. I felt like that virtual hamburger sizzling. I’m glad no cannibals were within view. I only lasted about 20 minutes, face all red, skin scalding.


I felt bad for the workmen who were replacing roofs in the neighborhood. Half the neighborhood is getting a new roof after that huge hail storm.


When I hear people complaining about lazy Mexicans, I want to smack them and ask them, “Who is mowing your lawn, cleaning your house, replacing your roof when it’s over 100 degrees.” I could barely walk 20 minutes today, and they do this day in and day out, probably 8 to 10 hours a day, heat or freezing cold. That’s what I see.

After a short rest under the ceiling fan in the air conditioned house, I went out for another attempt to finish my walk around 2. The skies had clouded up, so it wasn’t as blistering hot. Then, big random drops of rain plopped on my arms. Oh, that felt nice. All of a sudden, the sky opened up with a down pour. I scurried home, drenched but cooled off.


Funny how the weather can change at the drop of a hat. The rain was a welcome respite from the sweltering summer heat. What a difference a few hours can make.

Happy summer, y’all!

2 Responses to “Saturday:) Sizzling Sun Then A Deluging Downpour”

  1. Bonita July 9, 2017 at 4:01 am #

    U r such a dream girl! Love u!!!

  2. Brenda Davis Harsham July 9, 2017 at 4:43 am #

    I love a warm rain that breaks the heat.

Leave a Reply

