Sunday Sermon and Saturday Night on the Square

10 Jul

“When the burden is too heavy on your heart. Cast the weight upon the Lord, for he cares that, you call out to his holy Name.” ― Lailah Gifty Akita

*******************

Sunday morning greeting at St. Gabriel was fun. Mary and I arrived around the same time, hugging at the door. As we said good morning to people, quite a few stopped to give Mary a hug. I said, “That must be the hug line over there on that side.” Hearing my comment, Mary’s friend came over and gave me a hug, too. That started the progression and procession of of shaking hands and hugging parishioners as they entered. Everyone smiled and laughed. It was hreat way to start the day.

Today’s Gospel according to Mathew was Jesus telling us about His Father and how we should relate to Him and how to live. 

My take on it…if you trust in God and lean on him, He will lighten your troubles and give you hope.
“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,

and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,

for I am meek and humble of heart;

and you will find rest for yourselves.

For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

*******************

I wanted to tell you about my fun Saturday night on the Square. My neighbor, Diane, and I stopped at a few art galleries for Seconday Saturday. Renee Wrenwood was featured at the Cove.


Then, we went over to Orison’s Gallery. My friend Kim Guthrie wasn’t there, but I bought one of her prints. I couldn’t pass it up. The two little cowboys reminded me of my two boys.


We strolled over to The Last Gallery, and ran into my friend Karen. Her husband, Brad Donaldson, was one of the featured artists. He is a self taught artist who started experimenting with various resin techniques and now he creates amazing abstract paintings,


Then, off to dinner, drinks and music at the Celt. We walked upstairs where the band, Cleghorn, was starting to set up. It was noisy and packed. There was no where to sit. All the tables were taken. When we scoured the room, a muffled voice said, “Would you like to join us?” Two ladies motioned for us to sit with them, so we did. The noise level was deafening, so I really didn’t hear their names that well, but we spent a few hours together, enjoying the amazing and peppy Irish rock music.



Our neighbor, Kathy, joined us later at the Celt. A very nice Saturday evening on the Square.

GNO Girl’s Night Out…


Leave a Reply

