Friday:) A Few Cute Firemen Faces and Some Brownies

15 Jul

But sound aloud the praises, and give the victor-crownTo our noble-hearted Firemen, who fear not danger’s frown.

~Frederic G.W. Fenn, “Ode to our Firemen,” 1878

******************

When I bake brownies, I usually make a double batch. This way I can take some over to my local fire stations. I’ve been doing this for over 15 years. They really appreciate the random brownie drop by. My first stop was Station 5, close to my old house. I started visiting in ’04 when I moved to Texas. I picked up the outside house phone. A voice said, “Station 5,  can I help you?” I always say, “It’s Toni with some brownies.” Look at that smile. Well worth a little effort.


Station 2 was my next stop. They don’t have a phone. I tapped at the glass door and I think they saw me coming, because they were at the door right quick.


More cute smiles. That’s what it’s all about folks. Making people smile. Every time I stop by with some treats, I say to myself, these men and women are willing to risk their lives everyday for me, you, and total strangers. I can bake an extra pan of brownies every now and then.


Leave a Reply

