Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff

16 Jul

“Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.”

~ Robert Louis Stevenson

************************

How many beautiful Sunday mornings can there be? Let’s see…52. Another fine Texas day, already a little warm and muggy at 8:30, and the good news, St. GAbriel’s is air conditioned. Mary and I greeted at the door, opening and closing behind groups, trying to keep the cool air in and the hot air out.

I decided to hide one of my painted rocks on the bench outside the door before I went inside. Mass had already started, this way no one would see me. This was a cute one. A heart with Bluebonnets. (It was still there when I left. I’m sure it will find a good home.)


Today’s Gospel was about Jesus talking to the people through parables. He told the story of the sower. When the seed fell on the path, the stones, or among the thorns, nothing would grow. But, when the seeds fell on the rich soil, it produced fruit.

“But the seed sown on rich soil is the one who hears the word and understands it, who indeed bears fruit and yields a hundred or sixty or thirtyfold.”

*******************

My take on it… besides the old standard, you reap what you sow, I think it also means watch where you wander. If you walk on a stony path or among the thorns, nothing good comes of it, nothing can possibly grow. Plant your seeds in good rich soil. Choose the right path. That’s how you should lead your life and raise your children. Makes sense. Life is an echo.



Happy Sunday, y’all. (I just get a kick out of sayin’ y’all. It’s SO not me.)

Leave a Reply

