Tuesday:) Timeless Treasures

2 Aug

“Every keepsake is a memory, and every memory is a time and place in someone’s heart.”

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**************

“What we spend, we lose. What we keep will be left for others. What we give away will be ours forever.” ― David McGee

**************

I wanted to write and share this story at the end of May and plum forgot. Or did I? I don’t remember now. Well, it started sometime in March. I was cleaning out the fridge and organizing the kitchen, when I ran across this little bottle of wine. It was a wedding souvenir for the attendees of Kevin and Margies wedding on May 30, 1987. When I looked at the bottle that has traveled and been packed up from house to house, New Jersey, to Illinois, and then to Texas, I wondered , why in the world did I still have this. 

Kevin was the son of Barbara, the sweet lady who was our relocation realtor who found us our house in New Jersey when we moved there in 1986. She was so impressive, that when her son graduated college and was looking for work, she asked Tony, (Mr. EX, as I call him,) if he could interview at his company. Long and short, Kevin was a great guy, got the job, and later we were invited to his and Margie’s wedding. I really didn’t see them more than a handful of times when we lived in NJ, but they were a nice young couple. We moved back to Illinois in ’88. The little wine bottle traveled along.

When I discovered this keepsake and realized that it was nearly 30 years old, and their anniversary was coming up, I did some research. I couldn’t find them, but Miss Barbara, low and behold, was still selling real estate. I contacted her through the company website. She then called her daughter-in-law, Margie, and told her about the keepsake. Margie emailed me…

*****************

Hi Toni,

Barbara told us that she received a nice email from you recently. I laughed when you told her, that for some reason, you still had the small bottle of wine from our wedding. That is too funny. I think we used all of the extras in our early marriage cooking fiascos….

(Some personal greetings and family stuff I edited out.)

Anyway, when I heard that you contacted Barbara, I just wanted to reach out to you and say hello. Stay well and God Bless you and your family.
Warm regards,
Margie
*************

I replied to the email and asked for their address so I could send them their wine bottle for their 30th anniversary. She was pleasantly surprised, and for some reason, I thought it was meant to be. Maybe that’s why I kept it all those years, so this nice couple could have this special memory and warm wishes from a long ago acquaintance.

**************

Hi Toni,

Thank you so much for your package and card. The card and envelope are gorgeous. You have a wonderful talent. (I sent a handpainted card) I may be sending the card back to you in 30 years to remind you of your exquisite talent. I put the wedding favor in our hutch as it will make a nice keepsake. I remember when I was deciding on wedding favors, my Mom and I had a little spat at the time. (More personal stuff.)…

Kevin and I are looking forward to celebrating our Anniversary with a trip to Punta Cana. He works so much that I hope he is able to unplug for a while. He has been known to go on vacation and continue to work for several hours per day.

Have a nice summer and thank you again for your thoughtfulness.
Love,
Margie

***************

Sometimes you hold onto things for no reason, or it seems like for no reason at the time. But, every keepsake is a memory, and every memory is a time and place in someone’s heart. I’m glad I sent Margie and Kevin a little memory from 30 years ago. Not everyone gets a happily ever after, but some do.

One Response to “Tuesday:) Timeless Treasures”

  1. Dan Hen August 3, 2017 at 10:27 am #

    Wonderful story !

Leave a Reply

