Theme Song Thursday:) Lonely In A Crowd

4 Aug

“There is pleasure in the pathless woods, there is rapture in the lonely shore, there is society where none intrudes, by the deep sea, and music in its roar; I love not Man the less, but Nature more. ”
~Lord Byron

****************

Walking every day, rain or shine, that is my thinking time, my alone time. I must admit, the thoughts that race through my brain can be anything from, what do I need from the grocery store to, how I’d love to slap a certain person senseless. Then, sometimes I just smile and sing show tunes out loud as I walk. I’m alone, but am I lonely? Not really. Maybe, sometimes.

These past four years have been quite a whirlwind of feelings and emotions, but what I’ve really noticed is how much I’ve changed and have stepped outside of my little chalk outlined circle that was my former life. I do so much more than I ever did before. I travel more, drive for hours, and I “boldly go where no old Toni has gone before.” (More Star Trek references,)

Today, I took a long walk in the steamy afternoon. Later, I went to the movies alone. This is the second time in my life I’ve done this. Guess what? The first time I felt a little awkward, but this time was a piece of cake. No cake actually. I didn’t even get popcorn or a drink. I just had my trusty Tootsie Pop. The theatre was nearly empty. I think only 6 or 7 people for the 3:10 showing of “Valerian.” I sat alone in the dark, but I didn’t feel lonely. I had all the crazy sci-fi characters and actors and action to keep me company.

I found this song on YouTube and thought it was pretty cool.

Around 7:30, I drove over to the VFW Hall for our regular Thursday night karaoke gathering. It was pretty crowded today. I got to sing my “show tunes” out loud in front of people instead of alone. Miss Pat was happy to see me because she wore her Cubs shirt, and knew that at least one other person (me) would appreciate the Chicago connection. She just got back from a trip to Chicago. GO CUBS!



The thing about being alone is, sometimes you can be happy as a lark all by yourself, or you can be as lonely as a castaway on a deserted island in the largest crowd. It’s all in your head, your own perception. My head is getting better at discerning and deciding to be happy as a lark. I’m still a work in progress. That’s my motto.


One Response to “Theme Song Thursday:) Lonely In A Crowd”

  1. shirley dragas August 4, 2017 at 3:51 pm #

    I am sooo proud of you.

Leave a Reply

