Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff

7 Aug

“The transfiguration of matter occurs through wonder.”~James Hillman
***************

It was another very warm Sunday. After missing last week’s  greeting at the door because I was at the CRHP retreat, it was wonderful to see a lot of my new CRHP sisters and friends. It was neat to see their families, too. Lots of hugs. 

Today is the Feast of  the Transfiguration Sunday. Today’s Gospel is story of when Jesus appeared to the three disciple and was transfigured. 

**************

Jesus took Peter, James, and his brother, John, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. And he was transfigured before them; his face shone like the sun and his clothes became white as light……..

While he was still speaking, suddenly a bright cloud overshadowed them, and from the cloud a voice said, “This is my Son, the Beloved; with him I am well pleased; listen to him!” 

**************

My take on it, Jesus wanted to show his disciples something miraculous so they might believe and keep their faith and share His word. We are asked to keep our faith and believe through the teachings of the disciples. Sometimes we can be transfigured and changed through faith alone.

In a way, our retreat last weekend, was kind of a transformation. Very appropriate for today’s Gospel. A nice Sunday.


After Mass, I stopped at Sprouts and bought a whole bunch of vegetables so I could roast them for dinner. I am trying to eat healthier, BUT, I also bought a couple of pounds of chocolate covered peanuts. So much for healthy. I came home, popped in the veggies, and went for a long walk. 


Oh yum! As soon as I post this, I’m eating. 

Have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

