Sunday Sermon and Some Spectacular Sunsets

14 Aug

Without faith, nothing is possible. With it, nothing is impossible. 

~Mary McLeod Bethune

**********************

This morning, I had the pleasure of attending Mass at at St. Francis Xavier Church in Stillwater, OK. It’s a beautiful old church, and I hear they are nearly finished with construction of an even bigger and more charming church a few miles away.


I love the beautiful stained glass windows, and the alcoves where the candles are.



Today’s Gospel was the story of Jesus walking on the sea and calling Peter to walk out towards him.

“Jesus said, ‘Come.’ Then Peter got out of the boat and started walking towards Jesus across the water, but then noticing the wind, he took fright and began to sink. ‘Lord,’ he cried, ‘save me!’Jesus put out his hand at once and held him. ‘You have so little faith,’ he said, ‘why did you doubt?’ ”
My take on it…sometimes we get distracted or scared and lose faith that God will take care of us. But, when we call out and ask for help, He will “put out His hand at once” and save us. 

I guess we’re all guilty of losing faith once in a while. Fortunately, I have been blessed with a wonderful family and fine friends, and when I get scared or hurt or discouraged, there is always someone there to reach out with a hand to help me back up. I have helping hands here on earth and “upstairs”, whenever I call out. Lucky me!


Now, my spectacular sunset…


Boomer Lake at sunset. These three shots were taken just minutes apart.

One Response to “Sunday Sermon and Some Spectacular Sunsets”

  1. Bonita August 14, 2017 at 9:04 pm #

    💞

Leave a Reply

