Friday:) McKinney Firefighters Home Safe

24 Nov

“Nothing cries out for compassion, concern, and danger as a fire engine screams by carrying firefighters ready to do battle without flinching from any demand.” ~Byron Pulsifer

**************************

Our McKinney and North Texas firefighters arrived home safely in time for Thanksgiving. They traveled to and spent ten days helping to battle the devastating California fires. They left their families and friends, not knowing what they would be up against or what life threatening danger they would encounter. Everyone here in McKinney is proud of their selfless act of kindness.

These are just a few of the firefighter in our community who risk their lives every day for us. This is why I like to take brownies or cookies or cupcakes to my local fire stations.

Yesterday, when I stopped at our new Station #9 with brownies and a hand-painted ornament, I asked them about their Christmas tree. They said they didn’t have one yet. I’m going to have to post something on Nextdoor and Facebook and see if we can’t get these guys a tree.

Then, I had this great idea. I took them a special Fire Station #9 ornament for their first year, so why couldn’t our friends and neighbors here in McKinney all stop by sometime before Christmas and bring a special ornament for their tree? The coolest part would be if maybe the kids could make a homemade ornament with 2018 on it so it would make their tree even more special. I think I’m going to do that.

This is the ornament I made. Poppies this year. I remember a few years back when guys at Station #5 were all reassigned, no one knew where the tree was. I posted something on Facebook, and within a day, the station received a beautiful live tree.

So, here’s the deal. You don’t have to live in McKinney. Why don’t you take a homemade ornament or some baked goods or just a card of appreciation to your local fire station? I know they would appreciate it.

Leave a comment