Tuesday:) Toni’s Time-lapse Watercolor Leaves

7 Oct

“I hope I can be the autumn leaf, who looked at the sky and lived. And when it was time to leave, gracefully it knew life was a gift.”

~Dodinsky

**********

I was inspired by several fiery fall trees in my neighborhood for today’s time-lapse video. When I walk, I collect some of the colorful leaves and press them between pages of old magazines. I’ve done this project a few times with my senior friends at Towne Creek. Unfortunately, we won’t be doing this one this year, I’m afraid. It’s fast, fun and easy. (Even faster in time-lapse.)

Drop wet on wet bright fall colors onto watercolor paper, sprinkle with kosher salt for burst effect, let dry, scrape of salt, and paint around dried leaves. This was just a quick demo. You could also be more painterly and trace leaves or hand-draw leaves and paint around shapes with a dark color for contrast. A little veining added makes it pop.

Leave a comment