Monday Memories: My Famous Relative

2 Apr

20130401-214745.jpg

For the past five years, I have been researching my family tree. When we moved to Texas in ’04 from Chicago, I thought how ironic that we moved here, because my father was born in Amarillo, Texas in 1925. The family had lived in New Mexico, California, and Illinois. My grandparents were of Hispanic descent, and little to no documentation was kept in those days. But today’s technology has encouraged the recording and sharing of information, and so much data is now available through census, church and government records.

Just today, I discovered that our family lineage is directly related to the one and only JOHN WAYNE, the famous actor. Wayne was married three times and divorced twice. His wives, each of Hispanic descent, were Josephine Alicia Saenz, Esperanza Baur, and Pilar Pallete. Yes, John “The Duke” Wayne was my uncle.

(Wikipedia) Marion Mitchell Morrison (born Marion Robert Morrison; May 26, 1907 – June 11, 1979), better known by his stage name John Wayne, was an American film actor, director and producer.[1] An Academy Award-winner, Wayne was among the top box office draws for three decades,[2][3] and was named the all-time top money-making star.[4] An enduring American icon, he epitomized rugged masculinity and is famous for his demeanor, including his distinctive calm voice, walk, and height.

You should thoroughly research your family tree, because you may find that you are related to someone famous, too. And ALSO, be sure to read ALL of my posts from beginning to end, because today is April Fool’s Day, and I made all this nonsense up. John Wayne was not my uncle. The following photo is about as close as I am to being related to The Duke.

20130401-220610.jpg

Sorry, Uncle John. But, remember, it is April 1st, after all.

20130401-221625.jpg

Leave a comment