Friday:) Freinds, Food, and Painting From the Heart

4 Mar

“There are painters who transform the sun to a yellow spot, but there are others who with the help of their art and their intelligence, transform a yellow spot into sun” ― Pablo Picasso

*************

Today was my senior art group, the YAH, Young At Heart artists, over at Towne Creek. I went to the store for food and snacks for our Friday feast. My plan was tuna sandwiches, (it’s Lent, no meat.) potato chips, pie, and ice cream. I got all the fixin’s, and came home to make the sandwiches. (Here’s my secret recipe: I use mayo and cream cheese, a little diced onion, celery, and red bell pepper on wheat bread. Oh, tuna, of course.)

Our project for today was painting more bowls for the upcoming Empty Bowls event.


We have a good time painting, eating, sharing stories. Well, mostly I share my crazy stories. I love to talk as much as I love to paint. I’ve got a million stories.


Fourteen more bowls today, and thirteen last month. A nice little contribution from our little group. After we cleaned up our mess and dirty dishes, we went out into the hall and sat to chat a while. It was a good day.


This is a great quote. I’ve run into many people who say they couldn’t draw a stick figure. I say, “That’s good. No one should be drawing stick figures.” I’ve never run across a person that I couldn’t teach to paint and be creative. The secret isn’t trying to be perfect, but to have fun. 

Leave a Reply

